North Central Chapter, Health Physics Society Minutes of the Executive Council Meeting April 13, 2006 Mayo Clinic, Medical Science Building 321 3rd Avenue SW, Rochester, Minnesota

Attendees:

Jeff Brunette, Dan McGrane, Kimberly Knight-Wiegert, Nancy Farrington, Gary Yarrow, George Johns, and Marc Martz.

Called to order at by Jeff Brunette, NCCHPS President.

N. DAK.

Note: A copy of the Executive council reports can be found at the end of this report.

- 1.) The Fall Business Meeting minutes from October 27, 2005 were distributed by email and posted on the website. Jeff asked if anyone had questions or concerns about the minutes and received no response. The minutes were accepted and approved as written.
- 2.) The secretary/treasurers report was presented. A copy of the report is attached at the end of this report. The report was accepted and approved.
 - A motion was moved to pay Jeff back for \$27.97 for past meeting expenses. Motion was made by George and Nancy to approve the action and it was approved.
- 4.) This year, the affiliate count stands at 10. The complete Affiliate Member Report is on file with the secretary/treasurer. Jeff and Kimberly motioned to approve the affiliate report and it was approved.
- 5.) The executive council approved four new individual memberships received since the fall 2005 meeting. The new members are, James Blanchard– UW Madison, Chris Hagness Covenant Medical Center, Terry Sibbald Fairview University Medical Center and Jayme Trygstad South Dakota State University. Motion to approve was made by George, Gary and Nancy and the new memberships were approved.
- 6.) Marcum Martz volunteered to write-up the newsletter for the spring 2006 meeting in Rochester.

Old Business

- 1.) Dan McGrane has requested and received four CEC credits for the Spring 2006 meeting from the AAHP. The course number is 2006-04-004. Nancy asked if it was possible to get a summary or report of all the speakers for credit to meet her specific continuing education credits.
- 2.) Science and Education Committee update

Science Teacher Award Committee: Jeff and Dan updated the committee on discussions regarding the status of the Science Teacher Award Committee's efforts to design a new award application. Discussions mainly surrounded the issue of whether to award \$500 to the school or to split the award evenly between the school and the teacher in an effort to spur more interest in applying. Due to bylaw concerns, the Council voted against splitting the award. Additionally, Marc offered to talk to the Medical College of WI (MCW) Grant and contract office about the correct procedure to follow when giving award money to the high schools to ensure that they are used as intended by the chapter. {Post meeting note: After the meeting, Mike Lewandowski discussed with the national HPS the issue of whether the specific clause of the bylaws prevented an individual – the teacher in this case – being given half of the monetary award. The national HPS stated that the bylaws as written did prevent the chapter from giving a monetary award directly to a teacher.}

Science Teacher Workshop Committee: Jeff stated that the science teacher workshop originally planned for April 15, 2006 in Rochester was cancelled due to the lack of teachers interest. Mike Lewandowski plans to work with Sarah Field of the Rochester Area Math/Science Partnership and Amy Grover of the Southeast Service Cooperative to reschedule the workshop later in the year. Additionally, Marc stated that the Wisconsin Association of Physics Teachers would be interested in having the Chapter put on another workshop in October. The Council approved pursuing both efforts.

New Business

- 1.) Fall Meeting Location: Chris Kessler from Marshfield Clinic volunteered to host in the spring of 2007. George Johns stated that we can use the Minnesota Department of Health's Snelling Office Park location for the fall meeting again. The Council will keep that in mind but seek a fall 2006 location during tomorrow's chapter meeting.
- 2.) Jeff discussed the Radiation Safety Without Borders proposal from the national Health Physics Society office. While the program has many positive aspects, the chapter has not found an individual able to champion the effort and commit the time needed. We will have to work on getting volunteers and will announce the program at tomorrow's meeting.
- 3.) Chapter History Poster for the annual HPS meeting Jeff was notified by HPS about what content is need and is asking for a volunteer/s to help and present this at the Annual HPS meeting.
- 4.) *Nominating Committee for Chapter officers:* The nominating committee for the spring 2007 elections will be Jeff Brunette, Nancy Farrington, and Marc Martz plus two more members of the Chapter. Jeff will solicit volunteers for the remaining two positions.
- 5.) Officer election ballots were counted. The following were newly elected officers to the Executive Council:

President elect - Mike Lewandowski

Councilors - Mary Ellen Jafari Stephen Simpson.

Respectfully Submitted,

Kimberly Knight-Wiegert, NCCHPS Secretary/Treasurer



NORTH CENTRAL CHAPTER

Executive Council Meeting Treasurers Report April, 13, 2006

Chapter Membership

113 full time members

4 new since fall 2005 meeting

- James Blanchard
 UW Madison
- Chris Hagness Covenant Medical Center
- Terry Sibbald Fairview University Medical Center
- Jayme Trygstad South Dakota State University

13 Emeritus members

No student members

Chapter Income

Dues (for 2006)

- **8** Affiliate \$200.00
- Membership \$740.00

71% of 2006 dues are paid.

Meeting Fees

- \$390.00 Members (a few prepaid from previous years)
- \$650.00 Affiliates (Global Dosimetry unable to attend fee put toward next meeting)

Chapter Expenses

\$500.00 to Dr. Evan Douple for Wissink Memorial Lecturer at fall 2005 meeting

\$1,284.24 for NCCAAPM spring 2005 meeting bills \$26.00 for new checks

Balance Sheet

Checking account - \$ 3170.51 Money Market Fund - \$ 15,336.67 Total NCCHPS funds - \$ 18,507.18



North Central Chapter Health Physics Society Executive Council Meeting Agenda April 13, 2006



Mayo Clinic, Medical Sciences Building 321 3rd Avenue SW Rochester, Minnesota

- 1. Call to order
- 2. Review minutes of October 27, 2005 meeting
- 3. Secretary / Treasurer's report
- 4. Affiliate Coordinator report
- 5. Fall meeting details

Jeff Brunette is hosting the meeting at the Mayo Clinic, Charter House Facility.

Dan McGrane – review speakers

Begins at 8:00 AM with registration. Ends at about 3:30 PM.

Newsletter write-up

CEC for the meeting

Old Business

- 1. Science & Education Committee update
 - Science Teacher Award nominations
 - Science Teacher Workshop update
- 2. Nominations for HPS awards and offices.
 - Founder's Award Kelly Classic nominated
 - Fellow's Award Br. Jerome Rademacher nominated
 - Elda Anderson Award Mike Lewandowski nominated
- 3. Other old business

New Business

- 1. New member applications
- 2. Fall 2006 meeting location
- 3. Radiation Safety Without Borders proposal
- 4. Annual HPS meeting
 - Chapter History Poster
 - Chapter Council meeting
- 5. Other new business
- 6. Election of Officers